PDA

View Full Version : Trackday tyres that don't require warmers

No_Style
03-10-2013, 08:59 PM
Hi All,

I'm contemplating doing a couple of CSS classes in the near future (i'm a newbie rider, run around in yellow group at EC trackdays). From what I have been told of how the days are structured, it's impractical to fit tyre warmers between track sessions and classroom sessions. My new track bike (08 Yamaha R6) has Metzler 'Racetech Slick' slicks on it (K1 front, K2 rear) and from what I can find its inadvisable to use these tyres without warmers, especially if you're only using them for short sessions where they hardly get to temp before cooling off again.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a decent track day tyre (that doesn't bust the bank) which can be run without warmers?

Even better, if anyone is selling some second hand ones that fit the above mentioned conditions, please let me know (I'm based in Sydney and I'm chasing 120/70 - 17 front and 190/60 - 17 rear).

Thanks,

Kris

dan
03-10-2013, 09:27 PM
Hey mate I've got some road tyres that have plenty of life in them if you can't find what you are looking for. I think it's a 180 rear though. You prob want supercorsas or similar though, right? My mate might be looking to offload some q2s if you want me to ask?

No_Style
03-10-2013, 09:36 PM
Hi Dan,

Preference is for something that's 'track' orientated (like Interact K2's or Superbike Pro's, probably not the Supercorsa though, I think those are meant to be used with warmers...). Having said that, the real aim is to be able to afford to do a CSS without having to spend a packet on tyres (similarly, to do the course without binning a bike because I got over zealous on cold tyres :D)

If you could ask after the Q2's that would be appreciated. I've run them on my old road bike at track days and they seemed fine for the kind of pace I was doing. If they aren't on their last legs, then I'm interested.